1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

AQHA/PRCA Horses of the Year Announced

By October 5, 2012

October 4th was a big day for those in the Quarter Horse and rodeo world. The American Quarter Horse Association and the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association announced their picks for Horse of The Year. The top 25 contestants in each timed-event category vote for their favorite horses, and this year's winners are a mixture of new and seasoned victors.

Trevor Brazile's horse Lite My Dynamite, affectionately known as "Sic Em," was awarded his fist Horse of the Year honor in the team roping - heading category. This win was a first for both the horse and the 16-time world champion Brazile. Other first-time winners included steer wrestler Les Shepperson's mount Dillon's Dash

and steer roper Chance Kelton's horse White Hot Ike. Kelton said of his equine partner, "He was a good team roping horse, but he just didn't quite have the speed that a fella needs to win in PRCA rodeos."

The heeling category saw a repeat winner in Jade Corkill's horse Fine Snip of Doc, while tie-down roper Clint Cooper's mount Eightys Sport won for the third straight year. Mary Walker's horse Perculatin won this year's coveted barrel racing Horse of the Year, an inaugural win for both horse and rider.


November 19, 2012 at 10:36 am
(1) Luciana says:

Amazing. I agree.

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.