1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Wrangler National Finals Rodeo


National Finals Rodeo 2007 Recap and Results

Here are the round-by-round highlights from the 2007 National Finals Rodeo, a 10-day event sponsored by Wrangler:

Round 1 included bareback riding, steer wrestling, team roping, saddle bronc riding, tie-down roping, barrel racing and bull riding. Find out who the winners were in each event.

Round 2 highlights included Royce Ford taking the bareback riding competition and Matt Reeves winning in steer wrestling.

Justin McDaniel scored 91.5 points in bareback riding in Round 3, breaking Will Lowe’s record of 91 set in 2002.

Winners in Round 4 included Bobby Mote in bareback riding, Lee Graves in steer wrestling, Trevor Brazile and Patrick Smith in team roping, Heith DeMoss in the saddle bron competition, Matt Shiozawa in tie-down roping, Terra Bynum in barrel racing and J.W. Harris in bull riding.

Lowe scored 89.5 riding Pinball Wizard bareback in Round 5 after seeing his record broken the previous round, while Clint Craig scored a win in the bull riding competition.

Among the highlights of Round 6 was a victory by Sean Mulligan in steer wrestling. Colter Todd and Cesar de la Cruz also won in team roping, and top honors in bronc riding went to Rusty Allen.

Round 7 was “Tough Enough To Wear Pink” night in recognition of breast cancer awareness. Contestants and staff members, along with many fans, participated. They also got to see Justin McDaniel win in bareback riding. McDaniel called the horse he rode, Street Dance, “awesome.”

Round 8 will be remembered as the round in which Trevor Brazile clinched his fifth all-around title, after also earning that distinction in 2002, 2003, 2004 and 2006. Echoing McDaniel from the previous round, Brazile called winning number five “awesome.”

Tom McFarland came in fourth in bareback riding, scoring 82 points, and Bobby Mote could only manage 81 points for a sixth-place finish in Round 9, setting up a final round showdown.

Round 10 concluded the 2007 National Finals Rodeo as world champs were crowned in each event. They included Mote in bareback riding, Jason Miller in steer wrestling, header Chad Masters and heeler Walt Woodward in a split win in team roping, Taos Muncy in saddle bronc, Trevor Brazile in tie-down roping, Brittany Pozzi-Pharr in barrel racing and Wesley Silcox in bull riding.

The Prize Money:

Read about Why the money matters... at the National Finals Rodeo.

The Average:

Learn about the Average at the NFR and how it can affect the outcome.

The Reigning Champions:

These were the reigning NFR champions from the previous year:

  • All-Around: Trevor Brazile
  • Bareback: Bobby Mote
  • Steer Wrestling: Jason Miller
  • Team Roping Header: Chad Masters
  • Team Roping Heeler: Walt Woodard
  • Saddle Bronc: N/A
  • Tie-Down Roping: Trevor Brazile
  • Barrel Racing: Brittany Pozzi-Pharr
  • Bull Riding: Wesley Silcox


  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Rodeo
  4. PRCA
  5. Wrangler National Finals Rodeo

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.